View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 20 Sep 2019, o 08:06



Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
 Prerequisite for art eras 
Author Message
Trainee

Joined: 28 Nov 2013, o 10:03
Posts: 3
Post Prerequisite for art eras
Not sure if this is a bug or a feature.

The Civilopedia says for building Romantic Art you need 4 operas, yet in my game I can't build it unless I have 6 operas. (I only have 5 cities and I don't want another one!)
Same for Realist Art, allegedly you need 4 jails but my game requires 6 jails.

I'm playing the new 3.4 version, and on a standard-sized map, if this matters. I always thought that any requirements on a standard-sized map will never exceed the need for 5 cities. All the quests are limited to building five buildings, too.

I also had a look into the XML file "Art_Eras_CIV4BuildingInfos" (I assume this is the correct one) and for instance, in "BUILDINGCLASS_ART_ROMANTICISM", the code is:

<PrereqGlobalBuilding>
<BuildingClassType>BUILDINGCLASS_OPERA</BuildingClassType>
<iNumBuildingNeeded>4</iNumBuildingNeeded>
</PrereqGlobalBuilding>

Same for jails and Realist Art, it also says 4.

Is this a feature and this number is multiplied by 1.5 in specific circumstances? If so, how can I turn it off?


12 Mar 2018, o 10:59
Profile
RI Team
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, o 09:23
Posts: 2913
Post Re: Prerequisite for art eras
Building requirements are modified by map size. It wouldn't make sense to demand the same amount of buildings on a tiny and on a giant map.


12 Mar 2018, o 14:41
Profile
Trainee

Joined: 28 Nov 2013, o 10:03
Posts: 3
Post Re: Prerequisite for art eras
Okay, so the value given in the Civilopedia does not refer to standard-sized maps? Standard-sized maps are not treated as the default?


12 Mar 2018, o 15:23
Profile
RI Team
User avatar

Joined: 12 Jul 2007, o 09:23
Posts: 2913
Post Re: Prerequisite for art eras
The number indicated in pedia is for the smallest map sizes - Duel and Tiny. All other sizes have it increased by a set percentage. And that isn't added by the mod, or even changed in any major way - that's how Civ 4 itself also functions.


13 Mar 2018, o 01:24
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.